AAPL Institute for Education and Research (AIER)

The AAPL Institute for Education and Research was founded in 2004 to:

  • engage in education and research activities;
  • stimulate and encourage important and creative educational research programs in forensic psychiatry;
  • Train and encourage the trainings of forensic psychiatry educators, researchers and students;
  • Provide educational resources and activities for members; and
  • Promote development of linkages and synergies among forensic education and research programs.

The Institute is supported by donations from individuals and institutions, including its parent organization, the American Academy of Psychiatry and The Law. Please consider making a donation HERE.

Submissions are accepted throughout the year, with awardees announced by December of the same year. Grants for both research and educational initiatives are available. Click here to review the grant criteria.

Research Grant Application

Education Grant Application

Applications should be sent to office@aapl.org. All applications will receive a confirmation of receipt from the office.

AIER Officers

Renée Binder, MD

Vice President and Chair of Education Committee
Charles Scott, MD

Chair of Research Committee
Graham D. Glancy, MB

Chair of Fundraising Committee
Britta Ostermeyer, MD

Secretary/Treasurer (ex-officio)
Dana Cooper, CAE

Phillip J. Resnick, MD

Larry R. Faulkner, MD

Patricia Recupero, MD, JD

Stuart Anfang, MD

Reena Kapoor, MD

Susan Hatters-Friedman, MD

Ariana Nesbit, MD

Director (ex-officio)
Debra A. Pinals, MD