About AAPL
AAPL Governance


President Charles C. Dike, MD
President-elect Ryan C. Wagoner, MD
Vice President Trent C. Holmberg, MD
Vice President Renée M. Sorrentino, MD
Secretary Reena Kapoor, MD
Treasurer Britta Ostermeyer, MD, MBA
Immediate Past President James L. Knoll IV, MD
Underrepresented/Minority councilor Elie Aoun, MD
Women’s Councilor Jacqueline Landess, MD, JD
Early Career Councilor Kathleen Kruse, MD
Early Career Councilor-Elect Nina Ross, MD

Current Councilors

2023-2026 Carolina A. Klein, MD
2023-2026 Jacob Appel, MD, JD
2023-2026 Katherine Michaelsen, MD
2022-2025 Cathleen A. Cerny-Suelzer, MD
2022-2025 Chinmoy Gulrajani, MD
2022-2025 Tobias D. Wasser, MD
2021-2024 Abhishek Jain, MD
2021-2024 James Reynolds, MD
2021-2024 Joseph Simpson, MD

Medical Director

2023- Debra A. Pinals, MD
2013-2023 Jeffrey S. Janofsky, MD
1995-2013 Howard V. Zonana, MD
1972-1995 Jonas R. Rappeport, MD

Executive Director

Dana Cooper, MBA, CAE

Publication Editors

Journal of the American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law Michael A. Norko, MD
American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law Newsletter Joseph Simpson, MD, PhD

55th Annual Meeting Program Committee Co-Chairs

Cheryl D. Wills, MD

Past Presidents

2022-2023 James L. Knoll IV, MD
2021-2022 Susan Hatters Friedman, MD
2020-2021 Liza Gold, MD
2019-2020 William Newman, MD
2018-2019 Richard L. Frierson, MD
2017-2018 Christopher R. Thompson, MD
2016-2017 Michael A. Norko, MD
2015-2016 Emily A. Keram, MD
2014-2015 Graham D. Glancy, MB
2013-2014 Robert Weinstock, MD
2012-2013 Debra A. Pinals, MD
2011-2012 Charles L. Scott, MD
2010-2011 Peter Ash, MD
2009-2010 Stephen B. Billick, MD
2008-2009 Patricia R. Recupero, MD, JD
2007-2008 Jeffrey S. Janofsky, MD
2006-2007 Alan R. Felthous, MD
2005-2006 Robert I. Simon, MD
2004-2005 Robert T.M. Phillips, MD, PhD
2003-2004 Robert Wettstein, MD
2002-2003 Roy J. O’Shaughnessy, MD
2001-2002 Larry Strasburger, MD
2000-2001 Jeffrey Metzner, MD
1999-2000 Thomas G. Gutheil, MD
1998-1999 Larry R. Faulkner, MD
1997-1998 Renée L. Binder, MD
1996-1997 Ezra E. H. Griffith, MD
1995-1996 Paul S. Appelbaum, MD
1994-1995 Park E. Dietz, MD, PhD, MPH
1993-1994 John M. Bradford, MB
1992-1993 Howard V. Zonana, MD
1991-1992 Kathleen M. Quinn, MD
1990-1991 Richard T. Rada, MD
1989-1990 Joseph D. Bloom, MD
1988-1989 William H. Reid, MD
1987-1988 Richard Rosner, MD
1986-1987 J. Richard Ciccone, MD
1985-1986 Selwyn M. Smith, MD
1984-1985 Phillip J. Resnick, MD
1983-1984 Loren H. Roth, MD
1982-1983 Abraham L. Halpern MD
1981-1982 Stanley L. Portnow, MD
1980-1981 Herbert E. Thomas, MD
1979-1980 Nathan I. Sidley, MD
1978-1979 Irwin N. Perr, MD
1975-1977 Gerald J. Sarwer-Foner, MD
1973-1975 Seymour L. Pollack, MD
1971-1973 Robert L. Sadoff, MD
1969-1971 Jonas R. Rappeport, MD